FINALLY!  A WIN!

For the past few weeks, I’ve been afraid that my fantasy football team was going to match my quickly sinking Cincinnati Bengals game-for-game all season (i.e. not winning ANY games).  And in week 4, the Bengals continued on their path toward self-destruction, losing to the also previously winless Cleveland Browns, but fortunately for me, the Cobra Vipers pulled off an upset this weekend.

The statisticians behind Yahoo’s Fantasy Football system projected that my team was going to lose by about 11 points, but my team would have none of that.  Tony Romo, the always dependable overachieving power behind my team, came through in a big way, scoring 51 fantasy points when he was only originally projected to score around 31.  But my gamble on signing little-known running back Steve Slaton of the Houston Texans prior to this weekend’s game proved to be the best move I’ve made all season.  The man is amazing!  I didn’t know if he’d be able to repeat his performance this week or not, but when he played against the Titans last week, I noticed they just couldn’t take the man down.  So I signed him.  And he did repeat … in a big way.  He was only projected to pull in 7.68 fantasy points, but he wound up netting me 21.  Woo freakin’ hoo!

Other superstars that came through for me this weekend were Chad John … err … Ocho Cinco (FINALLY), Antwaan Randle El, and Rob Bironas.  And, of course, the defense of the Tennessee Titans continues to be an unstoppable force!

Now, I realize I may be get a little too excited, considering that my team is 1-3, but I really have a good feeling at this point.  I think I may have finally found a good mix of talent.  Time to turn this season around!

Oh … and I am still a Titans fan.  This was certainly an unexpected event, but I am really having fun watching them this season.

Go Titans!  Go Vipers!

