So now it looks like the Senate is going to pass a revised bailout proposal, still costing hundreds of billions of dollars.  What has changed?  Oh, they have added lots of “sweeteners” to the deal, to make it more appealing to Senators who might have voted against it.  John McCain, Barack Obama, and Joe Biden are all likely going to vote for the bill … as are my two Senators from Tennessee, Lamar Alexander and Bob Corker.

As it is, I know for a fact I will not vote for Alexander or Corker next election cycle if this passes.  I’m not saying I’ll vote for their liberal opponents, but, at the very least, I will vote third party or not vote at all in those races if no third party candidates are available.

I’m more concerned with the presidential race.  I really feel like I cannot vote for people who are not representing my interests, and the fact that McCain is voting for this is making me sick to my stomach right now.  I was actually coming around and looking forward to voting for him in November, but now I’m thinking I might have to go back to my original plan of voting for Ron Paul as a write-in candidate.  I don’t know.  The only comfort I have is that I won’t actually be voting for McCain to represent me.  He is running to be the president, and, as such, he is not running to be a representative for me in government.  He is running to lead the government.  But I still have to take issue with voting for a leader who could make such a serious error in judgment.

These “sweeteners” are added in to make it sound good to the senators and their constituents, but what they are really doing is adding even MORE money to this whole proposal.  Yes, they are talking about some tax breaks, but what good are tax breaks unless their are cuts in spending thrown in as well?  But instead of spending cuts, more money is being spent!

All I can hope is that when this goes back to the House, the same people who shot it down the first time do so again.

This bailout has to be stopped.  We are the U.S.A. — not the U.S.S.A.  Well, at least for now.

